Travel Documents and Visas

All visitors to Ghana must possess a valid national passport.

A national of any member state of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) visiting Ghana may, however, produce a travel certificate in lieu of a passport. ECOWAS members are: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Cote d'Ivoire, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone and Togo.

To enter Ghana, citizens of all but ECOWAS member states require visas (at a nominal fee). Visas issued to Egyptian, Kenyan and Zimbabwean nationals are free for the first 30 days, but there is a charge for extended stays. Group visas for tourists may be issued at entry to Ghana if prior arrangements were concluded between the tour operator, the Ghana Tourist Board and the Ghana Immigration Service. Visas are normally issued for visits of a one-month duration but may be extended by application to the Immigration Service before expiration. One-year multiple-entry visas may be granted to tourists and those who are engaged in business. Ghana's Missions and Embassies are authorised to issue all visas and entry permits; in places where there is no Ghanaian Mission, visitors may apply to:

The Director

Ghana Immigration Service
Private Mailbag, Ministries Post Office
Accra, Ghana