Ghana’s system of government is a multiparty constitutional democracy founded on elections by open and free universal adult suffrage.  All Ghanaians above 18 years are eligible to vote into office an Executive President for a maximum of two four-year terms.  A 230-member Parliament is also elected to unlimited four-year terms.

The main arms of Government are the Executive, Legislature and Judiciary each of which is independent of the other.